Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed in the distance from the intersection of Bolinas & Waverly near the San Francisco Theological Seminary in San Anselmo

This January morning, once again, the sun seemed brighter than possible. Mt. Tam almost glowed with so much light, but since I spent the better part of the day in a car, driving a route that was not of my mapping, the opportunities to take pictures grew remote. With the small windows of time I had, I went chasing after the familiar profile of the ridge, but it came as a big surprise to discover that through many parts of Fairfax, San Anselmo, and San Rafael rare is a glimpse of it – even through the bare-branched trees. I finally caught a sight of the peaks on one of my errands as I drove past the San Francisco Theological Seminary. I parked the car in what seemed like the center of a ghost town, it was so deserted, and took my shot, smudged by the lens flare. But it will have to do, since it reflects a day in someone’s life (in this case, mine) in the shadow of the mountain.

*

Physical earth reveals itself as persons.

That’s what a body is an
….. opportunity, hills dismantled geologically, shifting into
….. twiceness now, its wishes hearing–

a landscape full of an original
chaos but not in itself divine.

-from “The Shirley Poem,” by Brenda Hillman