Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed in the first light of day in Greenbrae

The forecast calls for rain to start up tomorrow, but this morning burst on the scene with clear skies and enough sunshine to make it seem as if the houses had been roused and were now dazed and blinking hard in so much light. The mountain itself seemed to wake into view in a sharply honed bas-relief of its tree-and-shrub-blanketed slopes.

How late into the day this morning glory lasted, I don’t know, as I headed out to Stinson Beach mid-morning. My journey took me closer to the mountain itself, but its familiar peaks were not within my view, not even as I spent the better part of the day hiking parts of the loop of the Dipsea & Matt Davis trails and those of the enchanted turns of Steep Ravine that took me and my hiking companion on a small detour to check out the Steep Ravine camping cabins oceanside.

All in all, by following the loop with our detour, we ended up walking some 7 miles, with not-too-taxing grades but with spectacular scenery wherever we looked, from up the hill, through the woods, and down and across the water.