Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam, invisible in low skies and plenty rain - its invisibility reflected in the upside-down world caught in raindrops

Remembering Form

by Brenda Hillman

Early life was looseness;

even if your preferred form is fragment, you need syntax
to love.

Still, there is a “leaking” when we try to put things together.

As a bowl starts out being a bowl, the not-bowlness
drains out of it. Later,

form is not something we remember doing, like being born.

We are lived by what we didn’t have, which is not the same as
saying we distinguish it,

though sometimes the outline of my husband’s ear in the half dark
looks like Brazil-

From Loose Sugar

Comments

3 Comments

  1. March 25, 2012

    I like “remembering form”. This makes me think of what I try to do with painting things from my head, which has always been the hardest task for me. So much easier to paint what we actually do see before us, but “remembering form” always us to paint into the abstract and surreal places we only dare to travel…

    • March 25, 2012

      always should read “allows”… Last sentence= dang autocorrect!

      • March 25, 2012

        Funny thing about “remembering form,” isn’t it? I tend to want to paint (or write poems) about the “remembered” aspect of form – that is the form I give it is from memory… I find it hard to draw what’s in front of me – or even write about it, as in reporting about it. Well, that explains why I am a poet… My photos, too, though they “capture” whats in front of me, I still like (or would like to) edit them to give them the cast I see in the landscape through my eyes.

Comments are closed.