Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the Tiburon bike path -Tiburon, CA

That’s the Tiburon bike path on a Sunday around noon. It looks oddly deserted, like most of my picture of paths in Marin, the places from which I glimpse Mt. Tamalpais lately. These series might give the impression that Mt. Tamalpais is somehow my own private mountain.

The truth is that I often find myself waiting until the paths clear before I take a picture. I don’t know why that is. I used to love to photograph people. Nowadays, I seem to have eyes only for the landscape without the clutter of people in it. It’s become a habit. A reflex that is hardly reflective of the complexity of this landscape.

Take the Tiburon bike path and Belvedere, where I rode my bike on this glorious California day with views of the mountain, the Golden Gate, the Golden Gate Bridge, and San Francisco. There were people galore out and about. Some on bikes, some on scooters, some ambling, other hurtling themselves on fancy bikes, rented ones, or in just their latest running shoes that were promising to make them speedier. It sure was busy on parts of the path, not to mention dangerous to navigate at times. And yet, every once in a while, as I went back and forth on this particular lovely stretch, I would catch long moments of a horizon with no people in it. And it’s one of these moments I am sharing with you here today. So that you can picture yourself n the middle of it, without worrying yourself about fitting in the crowd….