Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the end of South Eliseo Drive in Greenbrae

It’s rare for me to be out walking at 7 in the morning, but here I was today, out walking at 7 in the morning. Woke to plenty bird song and the hint of heat in the air, so to beat the triple-digit temperatures given in the forecast for later, I went out this morning as soon as I rolled out of bed. Didn’t even bother with the coffee, without which always thought I would be, well a witch.

The morning light was sheer, as if freshly laundered and lightly pressed by loving hands. All along the streets and for the better part of the path along the creek, a balmy silence, which made the light all the more brilliant. The water in the creek, usually churning in a tidal dance, was calm and coolly glassy.

To this shore I brought my slight shadow as I took the picture of the mountain in the distance, still glowing slightly amber from the kindle of dawn.