Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed as a reflection at Redwood High School, Larkspur

I rode my bike for the better part of an hour and a half this morning. I wanted to take to the road to face my fear of traffic, even of the lightest kind, head on.  I also wanted to practice climbing hills in different gears. Throughout my 13-mile ride around Greenbrae, Kentfield, Larkspur and Corte Madera the mountain stayed pretty much in view–not that I kept it in my view, considering that I needed my eyes for spotting hazards of the road directly ahead. But there were moments when I stopped on parts of roads less traveled to look at the ridged profile of the Sleeping Lady, capturing its shifts from my perspective with my cell phone camera.

One such stop I made was at Redwood High School, eerily quiet on a Sunday morning that also happens to be Father’s Day. There was a game of sorts in progress in the field  across the distant parking lot, but over by the cafeteria there was I and my reflection and that of the mountain … seeming scalable.

I have no plans to bike up the mountain, even if it looks scalable from here. These little jaunts that take me further afield in already well-traveled increments provide plenty of adrenalin and endorphins to keep the delight of discovery on two wheels rolling on. At least for now….