Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the parking lot of Frantoio Ristorante in Mill Valley

Today’s picture was taken in passing through, on my way to an appointment late in the day in Mill Valley. With traffic thinned enough, it was easy to decide on a moment’s notice to swerve into the parking lot of Frantoio, the restaurant that gets its name from the working olive press on its premises.

You don’t even have to squint your eyes from this angle to convince yourself that you just might be in Italy, perhaps somewhere along the border between Umbria and Tuscany. I’ve traveled in both of those places myself. The funny thing is that there were times during those visits when I stood looking at the views thinking how I wouldn’t even have to squint my eyes to make myself believe that I could be in California.

As for Frantoio Ristorante … I’ve had a few fun meals there in the company of family, that movable country that always is home.