Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the corner of La Cuesta and Bretano Way in Greenbrae

Summer arrived on soft feet this year. Midday in the nearly midyear, when I ventured out to run a few errands on foot, a full light weighed down the landscape with a cross-weave of heat and silence. Even the ever-present quarrelsome crows were conspicuously absent at that hour.

I walked on suburban roads, for there are no sidewalks here. In the sun of midday and midyear, the asphalt seemed to ripple and threaten to overflow the curb, especially at the bends.  At times I picked up the echo of an odd leaf blower that would start up with a whine over a ridge, only to die into silence moments later. If it weren’t for the odd Fedex and pool service truck whizzing by me, I could have pretended that I was the sole survivor of some plague that was deadly only in the suburbs.