Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed shortly after sunrise

And true to form, our first full day of summer burst upon the scene with thick layers of fog and frigid winds whipping them in trailing bits and clumps fast across the mountain and into the bay to come together as blanket over the city. There is a rumor out there that Mark Twain said he had spent the coldest winter one summer in San Francisco. I don’t know if he had actually said this, but I bet a lot of tourists feel much the same way when they find themselves in San Francisco and realize that they have packed only for their dreams of a golden California.

Comments

2 Comments

  1. Deke #
    June 21, 2012

    San Francisco merchants sell loads of sweatshirts to tourists every summer. Visitors plan to buy something while here but to their surprise, often end up opting for the sweatshirt vs. a t-shirt.

    • June 21, 2012

      Deke,

      I was going to write something about that in my post, how it makes for a whole new opportunity for merchants. Glad you added that observation. I am about to head to Sausalito and am looking for my down jacket 🙂

Comments are closed.