Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tam glimpsed through the play of clouds

There is a chill in the air, an edge honed by winds that are also driving those clouds every which way over the mountain … the mountain that seems to be slipping away from me somewhat. Slight injuries keep me from hiking or wandering across the hills in search of better views, but it’s not so much the physical distance from the mountain that bothers me.

Lately I’ve been perusing pictures of Mt. Tam all over online. Thanks to the proliferation of photo apps, there are plenty varieties of re-visioned pictures of the mountain. Instagram is one popular medium for catching filtered and squared views of the peaks to make them look like dusty gallery finds of the obscure work of a painter from centuries past, or the psychedelic dreams of an eternal hippie, or the faded mementos of days past from a family outing. They all seem to tell a story in a way my daily shots can’t deliver, at least not without the frame of words. Of course, I’ve used Instagram myself for a quick capture of a view that matched a fleeting mood to post instantly to Twitter or Facebook, unable to resist that impulse to share without having to explain myself, or account for my taste.

With so many filtered and altered pictures of Mt. Tam out there (some of those mine, actually) these daily simple photos here seem, well, dull. Pedestrian, prosaic, paltry. The resolve to capture a daily shot and post it without alteration, save for a quick tone or focus correction, now seems like a resolution to perform a series of daily sit-ups or floss after each meal.

Maybe I hit the proverbial wall…. Not that this will stop me from trying to carry on anyway.

Comments

4 Comments

  1. June 23, 2012

    Well, I feel that way about the Morning Porch quite a lot too. But I still can’t stop posting.

    • June 23, 2012

      I think I got myself a new habit here. This could get dangerous, because all sorts of inane posts could accumulate in the wake of that habit… 🙂

  2. Deke #
    June 24, 2012

    Sounds as though you’ve hit the same wall all photographers do when chronicling a project. Recognizing the challenge and wanting to resolve it will drive your work and enhance our enjoyment. Also, don’t forget that much of the pleasure we get from our daily visits comes from the prose that accompanies your work. On many days, the snapshots are secondary to what you have to say. As always, I appreciate your efforts.

    • June 24, 2012

      Deke,

      Thanks for the comments. A little “wind beneath my wings” at this point int he long haul. 🙂 And I am happy to know that the writing engages. So appreciative of readers, especially these days when attention is at a premium and in constant danger of fragmentation.

Comments are closed.