Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, July 24, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from San Anselmo Ave. in San Anselmo

Around lunchtime, I went over to 3 Ring Cycles in San Anselmo to get some help with fixing my spin/biking shoes. As always, Brad and Lindsay, the owners, were there and working hard, keeping this local hub for cyclists not only well stocked with goods, but also lively with plenty of advice and encouragement for cyclists of all ages and abilities.

After I spent some time talking with them, I walked around San Anselmo, considering stopping for lunch, but my appetite wasn’t quite ready for a meal. I sat down on one of the many benches along San Anselmo Avenue, soaking up some sunshine after these wild days of wind we’ve been having lately. For a while, I watched a good number of cyclists ride by. Many of them, mostly those in the middle-aged male category, seemed to be wearing yellow jerseys and going a little faster than I would deem safe along the avenue. But maybe I was just imagining this, not surprisingly in the wake of Bradley Wiggins’ win of the Tour de France.

Just as I was getting back into my car, I noticed the peaks of Mt. Tam playing peek-a-boo over the roofline of the San Anselmo Town Hall. And it’s a good thing I did, because otherwise there would be no new angle from which to view it today. I am settled in for the rest of the day and night, trying to catch up on some rest.