Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, July 25, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from Hal Brown Park, Greenbrae

Just outside the frame of this picture and a little deeper inside the park, a couple of people are going through some drill or other under the watchful eye of a very buff young woman, who must be their personal trainer. One of these people is draped over a Swiss ball, taking what seems like an afternoon between crunches. The other one is lunging forward rapidly and with great gusto. I take furtive looks at them, trying hard not to give the impression that I am some paparazzo in hot pursuit of Marin’s buffed and beautiful set. What I am after is that perfect view of Mt. Tamalpais, or at least one that I haven’t photographed over and over yet, and this group’s little al fresco gym is getting in the way of that.

And yet, if someone else were to walk by us, they could easily mistake me for one of them, since, like them, I am also wearing spandex and a chunky sports watch that doubles as a heart rate monitor. I am on my way to the gym, to spin class to be precise. Ironic, isn’t it, that they should take their gym routine outdoors, while I am heading inside to pedal away to nowhere….