Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, July 30, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed through vines along a fence

I almost let the sun go down on this day without a picture of Mt. Tam or a post expounding on some tenuous connection to that image. Not that I mean to misquote Elton John’s lyrics, here with that reference to the sun going down – especially not in the light of what happened to Jonah Lehrer in the light of his making up quotes from Bob Dylan in his highly praised and celebrated book on the imagination and creativity (ironic given the topic and title, isn’t it?).

It’s odd how after almost 7 months of posting daily, of having made a habit of it, today it almost slipped my mind completely. Then again, today I found myself lost in the idea of “start where you are.”¹ More than just the idea. I tried to make it the focus of my experiences throughout the day. Some moments brought an opening, as if in the heart. Others remained closed, like buds with their petals clinging inward and holding on to each other. Then, there were the moments that came to me already shriveled from too much sun on the vine.

All along though, throughout the day, the mountain has been there, even if out of focus, even if draped in haze. Solidly there in its blessed indifference to the flowerings and seedings of my moments through this day.

______________

1. Reference to Pema Chödrön and her book Start Where You Are

Comments

One Comment

  1. Michelle #
    July 30, 2012

    yes – breathing in – yes

Comments are closed.