Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, August 6, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from Bon Air Road in Greenbrae

The fog cleared relatively early this morning, but still managed to leave the summer air unseasonably clean and sparkly. The sky overhead, at the apex of its bowl, was a deep shade of blue, as if arctic waters had pooled within. The mountain stood out in sharp relief, the way it often does after a rollicking storm in winter. I was on my way to the gym and thinking of the long list of chores I had, this being Monday and all. As I turned unto Bon Air Road, I caught a glimpse of the moon, still visible at the narrowed band where the sun washed the deep shade out of the blue. Not a full moon, but there was still plenty of it left to throw the sun’s light right back at us, as if it had been a slightly chipped, but still polished tack forgotten at the seams of the horizon.

Bright as that moon was in the sky, it didn’t quite make itself seen in the photograph I took. If you strain your eyes a little, you might see it above the upturned “feet” of the Sleeping Maiden, as if she had just kicked it up into the right side of the picture.

Summer is back. Apparently, it also has ambitious plans to make up for lost time by cranking up the temperatures in the next few days. With the sizzle will come the haze. I’ll be looking at the mountain through motes set adrift in the heat. Better sharpen my prose then to keep the images clear and in full relief.