Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, August 7, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the Corte Madera Creek path in Kentfield

I lost a lot of hours today to small chores, big worries, and a few mindless rounds of Minesweeper on the computer. Every once in a while I have a day like this. Days when knowing that we are at the mercy of things, events, and, of course, people beyond our control somehow just won’t do the trick. By trick I mean the letting go and just going with it all. Most days I know how to ride the crests of this free-floating anxiety, but when I am short on sleep or have aches and pains, my trusty boat springs a leak and I am bailing the stuff out of it as fast as I can.

I finally ditched the whole boat, so to speak, around 6 o’clock, when I decided to go for a bike ride. The weather cooled by then, and, in a way, so did I. This ride was going to be all fun, with no particular course set, just like the course of those anxieties that bedeviled me earlier.  A brief spin around the Corte Madera Creek bike path in Greenbrae and then I was going up the South Eliseo hill, a short climb, but for me still a challenge because of the grade. Then off I went circling a smaller hilly street, gaining speed and confidence with each circle I made.

At one point in my loops a cute Mini Cooper pulled out of a driveway and to my delight it was one of my Twitter friends behind the wheel. It still amazes me how many people I have met through Twitter first, only to find out that we are practically neighbors.

After I was done with my mini-hill repeats I took off along the bike path in Kentfield. The light by this time was almost baroque. From here, I took a few loops around Magnolia Avenue then off I went along Woodland Drive in Kent/Woodlands, drinking in the last of the sun’s gold served in the balmy cup of winds.

Along the way tonight, I met a lot of other cyclists. We exchanged looks as if we were all in on a big secret. And I suppose we are…

Comments

3 Comments

  1. pat #
    August 7, 2012

    I needed the calm of this image tonight. Thank you.

  2. August 8, 2012

    Lovely. But what do you mean when you describe light as ‘(almost) baroque’?

    • August 8, 2012

      I suppose I mean that bonzish gold that gilds the frames on pictures and the folds of the draped dresses of statues of Madonnas from that era.

Comments are closed.