Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, August 8, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed through a telephoto lens

So, it’s been nearly eight months of daily posts under the wide banner of Mt. Tam and yet how many times have I gotten as close to the mountain itself as my telephoto lens managed to through the dimming haze of a hot summer afternoon?

Eight months so far, and I had hiked on the mountain maybe three times. OK, maybe four. Drove over it on my way to Stinson Beach maybe five or six times. Though Mt. Tam is constantly on my mind and pretty much within my view, its slopes remain peculiarly elusive as an experience to my feet.

I’ve had plans to hike the better-known trails, perhaps one each week, and then talk about those adventures here. But we all know what happens to the best-laid plans of mice and men. They go awry, and mine did too, thanks to a stubborn back injury that made standing and walking, especially uphill, close to agony at times. Oddly, the only thing that helped was spin class and actual biking. And now that I have taken a very long hiatus from walking and my regimen of Pilates, my back decided to ease off on me when I walk or stand. Well, OK, there were also those physical therapy sessions that taught me the right exercises to speed healing.

Meanwhile, as readers of these posts can tell, I had developed quite a fondness for the bike, but not enough to head to the mountains on wheels. A few more weeks of babying the back and I hope to be, well, back, if not yet on the mountain, at least to making plans … and, by the way, the recent sighting of mouse droppings confirm that the mice, too, are ready to join the planning committee….