Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, August 15, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed through two photos, one from sometime in August in 2007 and the other from August 15, 2012

Here is the deal with today’s photo: I took a picture from August 2007 and used it as the top layer for the picture of Mt. Tam I snapped shortly before sunset presented itself today. Yes, I finally resorted to Photoshop trickery….

I spent a good part of today looking backward, wishing for times past. Through the lens of present worries, the past tends to stand out it sharp, bright relief, much like this bear. His name is Old Bear. He was my older son’s transitional object when he was little. When my son went off to college, I found the bear in the back of his closet, and soon enough it became my transitional object as I learned to let go of the kind of parenting that was no longer in the best interest of that son.

The process of letting go happened through my keeping a private blog for that son, a blog that was narrated by Old Bear, who also appeared in nearly daily photos snapped in various places in Marin, all to help his former “human” get over homesickness without having to talk about it, and yet also keep up with goings-on at home, without having to talk about those with parents.

But the reason I chose to superimpose the picture of Old Bear gazing out the window at the mountain of 2007 over the picture of the mountain of August 15, 2012 has nothing to do with lessons in parenting. Unless, of course, learning to become one’s own best parent, that is, learning to let go is the way to cure all sorts of homesickness, be it for the past that never was or the future that can never be.

Comments

2 Comments

  1. August 16, 2012

    Way to go, Old Bear! Please keep on keeping all the humans in your care as safe and happy as possible!

    • August 16, 2012

      Old Bear appreciates the comment 🙂

Comments are closed.