Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, August 17, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed with Michigan cycling jersey in foreground….

My mind is on tomorrow’s Holstein 100 bike ride out in Petaluma. I am excited, as it’s my first ride of this nature. I hope it’s the first of many, one of which will have me ride the entire 100 miles as well. It’s not the miles or the hills that worry me on this first ride, but the uncertainty over how I’ll navigate my way through the groups of other cyclists.

My jersey has a big M on it, but it’s not for Marin. Obviously. I will be wearing a Michigan club jersey. The funny thing is that I never went to the University of Michigan, except to visit relatives attending school there. The funnier thing is that just about everyone in our family, except for yours truly here and one son, has gotten at least one, if not a couple of, degrees from the University of Michigan at one time or another.

The weather promises to be perfect, with patchy fog in the morning, partly cloudy and temperatures in the low 80s later. From what I gather from the website of the ride, there will be plenty of refreshments along the way as well.

If nothing else, maybe I’ll come back with a completely different view of Mt. Tam, for a change…. and with sore legs… not to mention the desire to ride again.