Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, August 22, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the bike path between Sausalito and Mill Valley

The highlight of the day was the 18-mile bike ride I took in training for my next big ride, the Tour de Fuzz in Sonoma on September 8. Some of my route today retraced the lovely guided tour Sally blogged of her ride from Tam Valley to Sausalito a couple of days ago. In fact, today’s photo of Mt. Tam is nearly identical to the one Sally captured along that same path from Sausalito to Mill Valley.

This was new territory for me, as far as exploring it on a bike is concerned. Once I rolled into downtown Sausalito, I became a little frazzled from all traffic with which I had to share the road and meandering tourists, some of them meandering bewildered on rented bikes. I can’t imagine (well, maybe I can) what a delight it must be for them to explore this part of the world on a bike. Maybe they expected their ride to be a sunny breeze in the high noon of August, not realizing that in these parts, the fog has its own agenda, regardless of the season’s plans. True to form, the fog kept rolling itself over the ridge and down the slopes in a rush toward the bay, whipping up a few strong gusts of wind in its playful slides, so at times biking even on the flats was a lot like pedaling uphill.

Once I returned to Mill Valley, I felt a bit like a tourist myself; turns out I am not that familiar with the bike routes in these environs. Most bicyclists are a very friendly lot, so it wasn’t long before a very fit older dude on a very fancy bike took enough time out of his speedy routine to explain to me how to get from Mill Valley to Tiburon without braving the crazy traffic over US 101.

While I pedaled like crazy along Tiburon Boulevard, I kept thinking how lovely it would be to have a bunch more bike lanes, or even more bike friendly streets, connecting all the towns in Marin. Not that we don’t already have tons of those … but the more I bike, the more I want to do it, not just for pleasure and sport, but also for commuting. It’s a very different world when you are in it, rather than hurtling through it in a car.