Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, August 31, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the parking lot of a medical complex on S. Eliseo in Greenbrae

A very chilly start to the day had me don winter socks this morning. Thick layers of fog blanketed Mt. Tam, keeping it well out of view of any rangefinder. Winds whipping around, as if it were already late October.

Close to midday, the clouds parted, right above the peaks of the mountain too, revealing blue skies, as if setting the stage for that blue moon to headline after sunset.

A Friday that went in the blur of fog and hefty breeze of winds. I did get on my bike, but it was hard going, especially uphill in head-on winds. Not fun, but necessary, at least for adding to my still meager repertoire of riding conditions.

I missed the rise of this second full moon of the month, as I was having fun with friends at happy hour tucked away in a restaurant sheltered in a grove of redwoods in Fairfax.

And so now the day is done, as is the month of August….