Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, September 5, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from 5th and C Street, San Rafael

Those are genuine clouds hovering over Mt. Tam in the distance. I had business in San Rafael at City Hall today, and though the light was gloomy, even in the middle of morning, I thought it perfect for today’s shot.  Fall, falling into our consciousness with a little more speed these days. Not that heat waves can’t wash over us yet and bring that hurried and almost desperate brilliance of late season sun. Back in 1989, at the time of the Loma Prieta earthquake on October 17, it was hot. Last year, too, the end of September had us sweltering. I am sure we’ll be seeing many more sunsets along the creek lighting up the skies with a wide flare. At least I am hoping, even if I am not exactly sure. I could have never imagined that the weather would become a topic of interest for me, but given its tendencies to ignore seasons and averages lately, it has done its best to keep us talking about it.

But enough of the weather and back to the business of midweek and the still-aching hands creaking over the keyboard….