Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, September 7, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed through the handlebars

My thoughts have wheels today… They are rolling toward Santa Rosa, where I’ll be tomorrow to ride 50K on the Tour de Fuzz. The weather promises to be perfect for touring. The tour description promises to supply plenty of fun, good food with libations, and considerable help along the way, from what I gather.

Maybe by the time I return from the ride and the festivities at the end of it, the last of the skunk smell wafting still from the garage will have dispelled itself. We have a more chastened dog, it seems, after her adventures with the feisty skunk last night.

Such is quotidian life in the shifting shadows of the mountain, a range that some days looms large, and others, like today, is caught in the spokes of a wheel.

And yes, that is not exactly a road bike in the picture. It’s a hybrid, combining some of the best and worst of mountain and road bikes. At the rate I am going, and with my dreams of going further, I do see a road bike down the (ahem) road in the not-so-far-off future. Which will put me even further away from views of the mountain … unless I start climbing more seriously and that biker I captured on May 24 heading to the top of Mt. Tam could be me….