Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, September 10, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed on a Monday morning in September

It’s Monday morning. The thick layer of fog burned off fast, leaving a few recalcitrant wisps hanging around the mountain, which wasn’t going to glow for me at this late hour for the sun to hit its slopes. But it’s an apt picture for a Monday, even if it suggests nothing beyond a pale blue blandness. It’s the start of another workweek for many of us, even for those of us who happen to like our jobs. Hoping that when my stubbed toe* heals (it is a wild and thickened quilt of purple and blue and black right now) I’ll be back out on the road (whether on foot or on two wheels) and so will be able to go looking for other views of the peaks than the same old, same old….

____________________________________________________________________________

*Stubbed my toe on the legs of a couch after I came home from my 50K bike ride on Saturday. Couldn’t believe how painful it has been and how it has affected my mobility. Who knew such small appendages can saddle us with such big pain…

Comments

4 Comments

  1. pat #
    September 10, 2012

    If the symptoms are that dramatic, it most likely is broken. Suggest a check-up on it so you can pace yourself properly. Bon chance!!

    • September 10, 2012

      Thanks, Pat. In fact, I am seeing a doctor tomorrow morning who can advise me about it.

  2. September 12, 2012

    Good luck with the toe! I recently sprained my foot doing something similar: basically, I tripped over my toes, stubbing all of them in the process. I never realized how much I walk in a given day until every step became an “issue.”

    • September 12, 2012

      I can’t even imagine how incapacitating stubbing all your toes must be, not to mention painful. Hope you are on the mend as well.

Comments are closed.