Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, September 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the Corte Madera Creek near the Bon Air Bridge, Kentfield

Rode the bike out to Fairfax with the intent to shop for the amount (and kind) of groceries I could carry in my lightweight backpack on the ride back to the car. It’s a little ironic that I always have to drive the bike some distance before I can ride it, since I live in a hilly neighborhood and neither my legs nor my lungs can bear the grades on the return trip, for sure. But once I park the car on the flats and take off for my various journeys along the bike path where people of all ages and their pets mill with commuters, some on foot, some on bikes, trekking home from the ferry, as well as the high school kids running laps or getting geared up for crew by the boathouse, I get to pretend that I live in a world in which I would very much like to live. A world accessible from pretty much all points and populated by people of all ages. A world that I can take in through all the senses as I move through it. A world that could feel like one in which I belong, not one I travel through on my way hither or yon, oblivious to all that I pass. Such is the odd stuffing of my dreams lately….