Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed from the bike path along the Corte Madera Creek in Greenbrae

They say stormy weather is just around the corner, making landfall on Monday. Which is why I decided to play hooky for the better part of the day that had the sun making hay of whatever was still green. OK, it’s an exaggeration, but once again, we were blessed with that peculiarly angled October light that coats the darkest recesses in the dungeons of one’s mind with a little honey. I didn’t want to miss the light, so I got on my bike and set out for parts known and unknown. I would be still on the roads, heading this way and that, following the light, were it not for my better disciplined self who would like to spare me more injuries to add to the ones I already racked up, thanks to my age and my blatant disregard for the very same in certain athletic endeavors.

If I could go back in time, with what I know about my fondness for biking lately, I would be a randonneuse, training for some serious randonneuring, maybe even aim for the Paris-Brest-Paris ride…. But for now, I am going to let my dreams spin their wheels in all kinds of weather along the lesser-traveled roads of the imagination. In the meanwhile, there is this blog project right here, posts after post, day after day, until I reach the destination, December 31, getting my brevet card stamped for the final time for this “ride,” so to speak….