Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, October 27, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed through a telephoto lens

Our halcyon days continue. More spectacular light and mild temperatures. The mountain couldn’t call out any louder to me, but once again, it’s only through the lens of my camera that I got nearer to the peaks today. Instead of a walk or a hike, it was more hours on the bike again, trying to store the bounty of light and mild breezes in the darkest recesses of my brain for the inevitable rainy days that will come.

In addition to the treat of light and heat, I had the fun of riding a bike I am thinking of buying: a Bianchi Zurigo. Yes, it’s a cyclocross bike, but for some reason, it seems to fit my biking style to a T right now. Planned on an easy ride today, since I am heading south with a friend for a group ride tomorrow, but with this baby on loan for a few hours, I just couldn’t get enough of the road, even if I didn’t get a chance to go off road with it.

Tomorrow I’ll be some distance from Mt. Tam, though with the moon nearing its full phase and skies clear of clouds and fog, I bet there will be some opportunities to catch the ridgeline through the lens in some sparkly moonshine….