Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, November 2, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed in the glorious light of a November morning

Some time ago, The Wall Street Journal ran an article about the peak time for everything. Upbeat tweets and general cheerfulness, along with clarity, seemed to be the order for the morning part of the day.

We’ve been having many clear mornings around here, at least as far as the weather is concerned. As for the upbeat or cheery state of my mind, I started to wonder if I happen to fall into the norms identified by the research. In general, when the skies are clear and the sun is strong, I am right there, smack dab in the middle of the cheerful crowd ready to press my cognitive skills to work harder for general happiness with the first light of day.

But come the rains, the cheerful veneer gets washed off in a jiffy. I spend the morning hours worrying about all the things that have gone wrong the day before, the year before, and in the course of centuries past in the collective yesterdays of all humanity. Then, when evening comes, things switch up fast. The later the hour, the lighter and wider my mind seems to get. I finally get to take stock and cross of my list all the things that haven’t gone wrong at least in my day. Happiness is wrested finally from the day’s self-inflicted misery. All sorts of possibilities are open again. Maybe that is why I tend to sleep well, regardless of the state of my mind…. Or, maybe, because as that article also mentions, when I exercise late in the afternoon, the peak time for workouts, all bets are off in terms of worry as the surge of endorphins carry me across any troubled waters as if I were on a cruise.