Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, November 6, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed in a haze with my voting station clearly in focus

Haze hangs over the mountain on this otherwise sunny day. The temperatures have already reached the 80s, at least that’s what my car’s gauge told me. That it’s hazy on the horizon is an apt visual for today, as so many of us are heading out to vote and wait to see the results.

There were no lines at my voting station, just a steady stream of people coming and going, all upbeat and excited to be there, at least the group into which I ran. I am going to spend the rest of the daylight hours outside as much as possible, away from the news and gurgling stream of pundits. Then, tonight, when I turn on the TV, I suppose, between the analyses, there will be the onslaught of new ads replacing the political appeals with ones urging us to get shopping for Christmas. In this, politics is business as usual, for no matter who wins at the polls, the business of business will go on.

Still, if you can, get out there and vote!