Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, November 17, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed in unsettled weather

A bit of everything today, at least weatherwise. Gentle rain, downpour, clouds, parting clouds, blue skies, brilliant sunshine, gathering clouds, dark skies, pelting rain, wind … we’ve been indulged.

In between the inclement spells I managed to get some 40 minutes on the bike riding the same old bike path, not too far from my car, in case of rain. Sure, if I were a truly hardcore cyclist, I’d laugh in the face of the pelting rain and keep on pedaling, taking delight in pushing against the wind. But I have nothing to prove to anyone, least of all to myself. Besides, my washing machine and dryer already got their workout for the day.

So, as that first raindrop hit my nose, I picked up the pace and in no time I was back in my car, the bike propped up on the back seat, riding along untouched by rain or wind. It didn’t occur to me that the bike, having been built for mud and dirt and wet grass and rough roads, was blushing, as much as bikes blush, at being coddled silly by this way too easy rider….