Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, December 9, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed shortly after sunrise

When I got up this morning, it was still night. Within the span of a half hour, though, the rosy-fingered dawn had set about the task of rolling up the shades of night. By the time my friend arrived to pick me up, along with my bike, the sun was in full command over a still-asleep world.

I’ve never really been what you would call a morning person. Biking is slowly changing that. Some of my best experiences outdoor lately happened at sunrise and on the bike. Though I was out and about around sunrise this morning, we didn’t get on our bikes until much later in the morning, as we had a long drive from Marin down to Woodside, where we got to ride along Cañada Road again, with a good portion of it closed to car traffic. Our group ride took a little detour to the Pulgas Temple, which marks the end point of the Hetch Hetchy Aqueduct that still provides water for San Francisco and Peninsula customers.

These Sunday rides with the Velo Girls along Cañada Road make for an easy 15-mile loop, albeit a fast one. They are hardly strenuous, as there is not much climbing along the way, but in terms of enjoying the wind in one’s face along a wide stretch of road with great views, they are worth the trouble of getting up early and driving far. The tiredness that comes over me in the afternoon post-ride (like now, as I am writing this) is as much an after-effect of the ride as it is having greeted the dawn herself with coffee in hand….