Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, December 18, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed in the morning

Nearly the identical view as yesterday. Captured nearly at the same time as well. Today, though, there is plenty more blue sky to behold. And plenty more sunshine in which to bask, even if the air is sharp and seems like it has been sitting on ice for days.

In the afternoon, in the absence of the crows that have been hanging around, but which have vanished magically today, trilled birdsong by the window. I wish I knew what kind of bird it was. Seems to me I used to hear that particular birdsong, along with so many different others, years ago. With so many crows around here these days, even the scrub jays have moved on. Occasionally, there is still the rustle of pine siksins – or at least I assume that’s what they are when I see them flitting from tree to tree by the dozens. Though I have a field guide to local birds of every size, I am an inept birder. Can’t even tell the merlins apart from the hawks, large as they all are … and frequent visitors lately too, only to be chased off mercilessly by the belligerent resident crows.

But today, no feathered predators and no crows. Only that sweet birdsong, however brief it was….