Info

dreaming in the shadows of the Sleeping Maiden

Mt. Tamalpais, December 27, 2012

Mt. Tam glimpsed by Peggy Butler from Alta Vista, San Rafael

It’s overcast in Vancouver, with thick layers of clouds hanging low and obscuring the wide bowl of sky I recall from my days of living here. To see the picture of Mt. Tam with blue skies and sunshine from where I am now makes for a feeling that is at once familiar and strange. It’s as if I were at home in both places at once, and, at the same time, away from any home I’ve known. The Internet, through which posting this is possible, gives me the illusion that home is always and simply a click away. But, as I am finding, that click can just as easily displace me from any place in which I thought I had solid roots. In fact, that click can just as easily dislodge the idea of place itself….

Comments

2 Comments

  1. Deke #
    December 28, 2012

    I too am a resident of many places but my heart calls me home to Marin and my beloved Mt. Tam every day. Your daily meditations on life with the mountain have kept me connected to this magical place. I will miss your musings Maria. Thank you for being a bright spot in each day this past year.

    • December 28, 2012

      You are welcome … and thank you for reading all this time. 🙂

Comments are closed.